Coach Bill Dwan

A three-time All-American defenseman during his playing days at Homewood, Bill Dwan is entering his 19th season as a member of the Blue Jays coaching staff, including his eleventh as Associate Head Coach. Dwan works with the defense and oversees the team’s extensive video scouting and recruiting efforts. Dwan has been an integral part of the resurgence of the Blue Jay lacrosse program since his arrival in 2001.

He has helped guide the Blue Jays to a 177-69 record, 15 trips to the NCAA Tournament, a pair of national championships and two other appearances in the national title game. Since his arrival, Johns Hopkins defensemen have earned All-America honors a total of 23 times. In addition, Michael Evans and Tucker Durkin (twice) have been named recipients of the William C. Schmeisser Award, presented annually to the nation’s top defenseman.

A standout defenseman during his career, Dwan helped the Blue Jays to four appearances in the NCAA Tournament, including a trip to the 1989 title game. Dwan served as a team captain in 1991, when he was the recipient of the Fred Smith Trophy, which is awarded to Johns Hopkins player who demonstrates outstanding loyalty and dedication. 

Coach Bobby Benson

One of the greatest goal scorers in Johns Hopkins history, Benson enters his 13th season as the Blue Jays’ offensive coordinator. With the team success has come the individual honors on the offensive end as Benson has coached 28 All-Americans since 2007, including five First Team selections. The balance of Benson’s offense is easily seen when taking a close look at the All Americans he has developed as they are evenly divided among midfielders and attackmen. Among the players he has coached are three-time First Team All-American and National Player of the Year Paul Rabil.

Benson earned All-America honors three times during his career at Johns Hopkins and finished his career at Homewood ranked sixth all-time in goals scored (124) and 14th in points (167). He helped the Blue Jays to three trips to the final four and captained the team to a national runner-up finish as a senior. He remains one of just two players to lead the team in goals for four straight years.